Where does it all go?!?!?
From: "Jackson Callans"
When you Delete somethin from your computer and
Empty your Recycle bin.. Where does those files go? they say that
anything you delete will always be on your computer... so where does
it all go?
Dendron gave us this simple answer:
Files deleted from a computer will
remain in memory until you write new information in their memory
location. Think of computer memory as a large chalk board with
writing all over it. Some places someone will mark "do not erase."
This is like a saved file. Other areas are ready to be used again
but have the old writing still there. When the area of chalk board
is needed, the old information is removed and new information added.
If that area is not needed, the old information simply remains
Maba27 didn't really know the answer but wanted
his 5 min of fame, so he went out on a limb and gave it try:
if u delete a file, the file remains on your pc
I don't know how it all works exactly, but I am certain it stays on
your pc till your pc overwrites it
so it doesn't stay there forever, it gets overwritten, but as long
as it has not been overwritten, u can still recall the file with
some special software or so (I don't know how that works either)
Kile wanted to give us the long and technical
answer, which brings us to the truth. I bet your
thinking, SQA is made up of a bunch of technical support people, do
they not know the answer. Of course we knew the answer but we
did not want to show off our geek hood.
In simple terms, a computer disk has a file
allocation table (FAT) that records the name, size, location of the
first sector of each file, and other data relating to the files.
When you delete a file, the file is "marked" as deleted by changing
the first character of the file name to a special character
(represented by a sigma.) The sectors that made up the file are now
available for re-use by other applications. The Recycle Bin is
simply a separate application that keeps track of deleted files and
reserves the sectors from being re-used unless it is absolutely
necessary. This makes it possible for you to change the status of
the file back to normal and "recover" the file. It is possible to
recover all or portions of a file unless all the sectors have been
overwritten with other data. This is made much easier by the FAT
convention of listing only the first sector that comprises the file.
Each sector then contains information linking to the next sector
used by the file! , like a chain. This makes it simple to find one
sector of a file (as long has it has not been overwritten) and then
link to the remaining sectors. (This explanation is grossly
over-simplified, but basically correct.)
Click here to send this page to a friend!
Back to main page